Lots of little projects

So far January’s dive into clutter management and organisation has gone well. I’m well-stocked on shampoo and other essentials. My flat has been rearranged. And my diary is firmly in daily use. But, much as I am content with the tidy appearance of my living space, I know I can’t just let it rest. There’s so much more I need to get done to consider January’s resolution firmly tackled.

On top of this I have other projects and deadlines to hit. Lists have become my best friend. I’d lose track without them! I have three sets of things that need doing – my HabitRPG list, which contains lots of bigger things that might get done “eventually”, but aren’t always things that need doing right now. Some of those things have been on there a few months! But when they do get done I’ll be proud.

Then there’s my diary lists, which aren’t so much lists as a spare notebook. On the pages for days I’ve passed I fill the space by scribbling reminders for myself, which keeps me coming back to the diary and saves the paper I’d use for the same purpose.

Finally there’s Chrome and my Google Drive lists. Some of these don’t count – lists of things I need to watch at some point, for example. But one of these pages is my firm to-do list, and this contains all my Happiness Project things.

On here I have the dreaded shoe-clearance mentioned from way back when. I have a bowl of used batteries I need to recycle, and a box of old tablets I’m never going to need again – dealing with both of these is also on my list. Little steps towards less clutter. Some things, like booking my B12 injection, won’t take very long, while others could take a while – like clearing my inbox, a guilty list of thousands of things I know I’ll never actually read in their entirety.

But it all needs doing and, once it’s done, I’ve achieved something. That’s my motivation. I’m already getting much better at things, like trying to follow Gretchen Rubin‘s rule of, if it won’t take five minutes, just do it. That’s making small differences that add up to a big difference.

Today I’ve attended a meeting, been to the shops, been told I was successful in at least one of my voluntary position applications and written this blog post. I also finally got round to reading April’s chapter in The Happiness Project. But there’s still a lot I need to do – At least 4 pieces of writing on Deviant Art, one of which is due by Friday and the rest for the end of the months. A few pixel images for the guys over at HabitRPG. I’m half way through cooking my dinner, and I haven’t yet done today’s Duolingo French class. And, of course, I need to cram in some more exercise as well as that little shopping jaunt – although last night’s attempt nearly killed me! A bit too much too quickly.

We’ll see what we get done. There’s no rush, after all. I have the rest of the evening to suss it out.

Wish me luck!

Kirsty

Leave a Reply

