So far, so good

There’s only so much I can do with the resolutions when I’m still in Durham until Sunday, but that doesn’t mean I’m ignoring them. I’ve just finished reading the February chapter from The Happiness Project, and enjoyed the thoughts about relationships and love.

I think it’s interesting to listen to a thoughtful account of relationships from the other side of the whole marriage and kids thing. In many ways I think Gretchen charms me, not because of her charisma, but because I see a lot of my own ways of looking at the world through her words. She seems to examine everything like I do, and that warms me to her work. I also think she was right when she told her friend she didn’t need therapy – I myself have had counseling, and love the way it taught me to understand my own behavior and influences. But Gretchen doesn’t need that. She’s very aware of herself already.

As for my own resolutions – I’ve really enjoyed her January chapter, and the way she discusses clearing out her own spaces. While having a shower earlier I was considering two very important things: first, that when myself and my partner went to the Metro Centre the other day, I bought more pairs of shoes than I ever have before in a day. I bought four: two nice pairs, and two daily-wear pairs. They are more likely to be worn than a few other pairs of shoes I have – I’m not a shoe person, I hardly have any. But if you were to ask me how many pairs of shoes I have, before this particular shopping spree, I’d have said two. I have a nice pair that’s on it’s last legs, and probably doesn’t count. I have a pair of boots that are dressy but I haven’t worn them in such a long time I don’t think they should count either. The two pairs are a nice pair of low heels that I use for nights out but can also wear to interviews – my smart shoes. And my daily ones are a pair of high-tops from last Christmas that are just beginning to leak.

But I do have other shoes. I don’t wear them. They live in a bag. Why do they live in a bag and not the bin? Or someone else’s shoe rack? This is definitely somewhere I’m going to start when I get back home. Gretchen’s made me realise that, though I am much more disciplined than I used to me, I still have a long way to go. I need to be more strict with myself.

I’m also going to look into the idea of a car boot sale (UK version of garage sale) to cleanse my unwanted belongings but also try to make some pennies back from it. When we were at the Metro Centre I did overspend a little, but not purely on things that weren’t needed. The shoes were a must-buy. I really needed those, and it’s given me the nudge I needed to realise I don’t need the rest of them. I also bought some boxes to give my kept belongings a home – I don’t have many empty boxes left for the things I do want to keep. I have a new Tai Chi DVD and book set – something I’ve always wanted to try. I enjoy Yoga already, but I like trying new things. And it all fits into my Health and Well-being box – spiritual health is important too, after all. And Tai Chi seems very spiritually as well as physically beneficial.

I am feeling really good about the progress. I know it’s only a day, and there’s not much I can do from here. But I am using my diary very intently, and I am thinking about all the things I need to do when I get home. Planning ahead, always something that makes me feel more positive.

Now I’m off to eat my dinner and watch the new episode of Sherlock. Lets see how he survived that jump… it’s only taken two years!

Kirsty

Leave a Reply

