Sunshine Blogger Award

I was stunned when, after a blogging break of a few weeks, I returned to find this waiting for me – the Sunshine Blogger Award, given by fellow Insecure Writer’s Support Group member Lilica from Lilicasplace:

Sunshine Blogger Award

Sunshine Blogger Award

Admittedly, I am quite shocked. I know I’ve been a blogger for a very long time, but I’ve never really made much of an impact on the wider world to my knowledge. Still, when you’re posting to something so open as the internet I guess you never know what impact you’re having.

So here are my instructions for accepting this award:

  1. Use the Award logo in your post.
  2. Link back to the person who nominated you.
  3. Share ten pieces of information about yourself.
  4. Nominate ten fellow bloggers who “positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.”
  5. Leave a comment on the nominees blogs to tell them about the award.

I’ve done the first and second already, so here’s to part three:

10 Pieces of Information About Myself

  1. I really don’t like toasters – refuse to use them and if anyone ever makes me anything using a toaster they have to pretend they haven’t or I wont eat it.
  2. I sleep with stand-up comedy playing next to my bed almost every night to help me drop off – my favourite comedian being Eddie Izzard, but at the moment I keep alternating between Michael McIntyre and Dylan Moran.
  3. I don’t tend to enjoy watching apocalypse-style films because thinking about the end of the world kind of makes me anxious – the worst film for this was The Knowing; it really disturbed me and I haven’t watched it again since.
  4. I have a tattoo of a frog on my right shoulder blade – I really want to save up and get it finished.
  5. When I’m writing I like making playlists of songs to represent each step of the story, reflecting the situations and moods of the characters with my choices.
  6. I am very addicted to Pinterest, and I can spend hours at a time updating my boards. I recently wiped my account to start from scratch because I couldn’t find a website that fulfilled what I needed to make my wish lists for my birthday. My Pinterest account became my new wish list hub, and those boards are still there.
  7. I am allergic to plasters, dust, pollen, horse bedding and bin liners. None of these are severe enough for death or hospitalisation, though they do cause some uncomfortable reactions with my skin and sinuses. I only know about the bin liners from when I stripped and re-dyed my hair 6 months ago – having one over my shoulders to protect my clothes gave me a rash for a week that looked like shingles.
  8. My guilty pleasure is Pokemon, and I’m not embarrassed to admit it – I still play some of the games, and I have a fanfic on my DeviantArt account. I haven’t worked on it for a while, but every so often I go back and proofread some of the chapters. It helps me to write when I can’t write about anything else.
  9. I love playing computer games and I get quite competitive. I love getting achievements on my Xbox 360 for doing certain things, and when I really enjoy a game I can spend hours doing all the side quests and collectibles. In the past year my most-loved games for keeping me engaged outside the main storyline are the Assassin’s Creed series (I and II), the Batman series (Arkham Asylum and Arkham City) and L.A. Noire.
  10. Last week I rode a bike for the first time in about 10 years. I’ve never been taught how to signal with one hand and, when the instructor was trying to teach me, I got so anxious I nearly cried! I was convinced I was going to fall off.

That was tricky but fun. Now for my 10 nominees, and a little note on why I’ve picked them.

10 Bloggers I Think Deserve The Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. Write Like No One’s Watching – A fantastic blog which has always inspired me. She’s a wonderful writer, and a wonderful person. I can’t think of anyone who deserves recognition for their blogging more.
  2. Well I Guess This Is Growing Up – Another really inspiring person I know, with a charming way of writing about her journey into adulthood and all the “grown up” things that come with it.
  3. Cultivating Habits – A new year’s challenge that really struck a chord with me because it’s similar to my own approach on gentle changes that stack rather than a huge change that doesn’t stick. Such a nice person to talk to, and a great blogger.
  4. Glosswatch – One of my first  steps on a path of feminist discovery, and one of the most entertaining and engaging blogs I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading. Definitely on my list.
  5. Back To The Sutra – A blog about Yoga and so much more. I love the poems and the playlists and all the random little things she posts that link into her passion. Definitely worth a read.
  6. Indie Gamer Chick – I know at first glance this is primarily a review site, but it’s much more than that. Some of the articles she writes about the games industry show a true passion for it, as well as how engaged she is with the developers of the titles she plays. I can always find time to read her work, and if anything it’s these other pieces more than the reviews that keep me coming back.
  7. Marc and Angel Hack Life – A brilliant inspirational blog that everyone could draw something from. The lists are a great read, but the more in-depth articles really hook my attention.
  8. A Girl Called Jack – Like it says on the box, this is much more than a food blog. Some writers with a little too much attention can let their work slide, but this blog has always been wonderfully eloquent and very inspiring to read.
  9. I’m an Organizing Junkie – Very witty and fresh, with tonnes of great ideas that always leave me feeling like getting up and doing or making something.
  10. Keli Has A Blog – Some great inspirational words and pictures in this one, definitely deserves a little sunshine for her work.

Okay, now all there’s left to do is go and tell the lucky nominees. Thanks again to Lilica for the award – really has left me feeling quite special.

Kirsty

5 responses to “Sunshine Blogger Award

    • Thanks! I think playlists really help me get into the right frame of mind for writing about different subjects. Songs and music help me find the feelings behind the story and that gives them more depth. Anything to add to the final result =)

  1. Pingback: Sunshine Blogger Award | lilicasplace

Leave a Reply

