IWSG: Sleep and dreams

This post is part of a monthly blogging forum called Insecure Writer’s Support Group. For more details and a link see the end of this post.

This post is part of a monthly blogging forum called Insecure Writer’s Support Group. For more details and a link see the end of this post.

This month’s Insecure Writer’s post I’ve decided to spend talking about my love of sleep. I am, naturally, an owl – happy and proud to be so. I work better at night, I struggle dropping off, and if you try to get me up before I’m ready to rise you’re going to regret it.

But sleep is my indulgence, and I’ve been assured it’s a much less unhealthy reward than food. Biologically speaking, both of these activities release positive hormones such as serotonin, but food leads to more undesirable side effects if overdone than sleep.

I don’t know if that’s true – I haven’t studied it myself, I’m merely repeating what I have been told, and if I’m wrong please don’t shout at me.

But, aside from the physical and mental benefits of sleeping, and the fuzzy happy mode it leaves me in when I get plenty of it, there’s a writing plus in there too. When I sleep I have a very active imagination – I dream a lot of vivid, complex things, some of which are very realistic and others are extremely outlandish. I dream in repetition because, as a gamer and a writer, I spend a lot of time going over the same things, and my dreams mimic this behaviour. I have pages and pages of notes from dreams that I’ve scribbled down on awakening because I can feel the potential of the stories they inspire.

I love writing. I don’t do it nearly enough, but it makes me goofy happy in a way few other things do. I am a part of this movement to remind myself of how much writing means to me so that, when I do move to County Durham in a matter of weeks, I can use it to anchor myself in a new place and find those happy moments.

Until then, with limited computer use and other restraints on my time, I still have my dreams and those bursts of inspiration to keep reminding me of where my heart lies.

Kirsty

 

The Insecure Writer’s Support Group was founded by published author and blogger Alex J. Cavanaugh. We post on the first Wednesday of every month. For more information or to join up click here.

Leave a Reply

