Museday: Versions of myself

I know it’s been a month since my last post, but it’s been a very busy and very hectic month, and chances are things wont be letting up much. It’s getting closer to the actual move to Durham now, and that has to be my main priority. But I’ll keep posting when I can.

So my first Museday post in over a month. I got to thinking last night as I was drifting off to sleep about how I feel now, aged 25 and looking forward to a new life in a new county. I don’t think if you’d asked me, aged 20, where I’d be in 5 years this would have been my answer, or anything close to it. But a lot has changed in those 5 years, not least myself. The 20-year-old version of me was obsessed with moving to London, and still running around trying to please everyone. I hadn’t yet learnt how important respect was, and that when people let me down that was the quality they were lacking.

I think it’s interesting to look back at how I’ve changed. My 20-year-old self would say and do things so differently to how my 25-year-old self would now. I wouldn’t dream of speaking to some people the way I did then – but, on the flip side of that, I wouldn’t dare speak to people back then how I would now in other situations. I guess as we grow older we become a little more aware and a little less daring, but at the same time much more brave and self-preserving. All those sharp edges round off, and we start to figure ourselves out.

All in all I’m quite content with the changes I’ve made in the past 5 years, and I’ll be interested to see where my life takes me in the next 5.

Kirsty

 

Leave a Reply

