Daily motivation 28 – every day is a new beginning

I’ll be honest with you, this is something I’m not very good at. I love special dates and picking the right moment to start things. I even made sure when my current partner was seeking to ask me out for our first date that it landed on a date with an even number. I hide it well in my general life, but I can be a bit of a control freak about certain things, bordering on obsessive compulsive.

I don’t know what it is. We want everything to be just right, nothing to annoy us in the future. I let things niggle at me far too much. But when it comes to those new habits and fresh starts, what’s more important? Picking the right day to start this new section of your life, or just making sure the answer to that question is never, ever “tomorrow”.

I’ve read articles on how to get ahead in life, and the things successful people do differently. Being a tomorrow person is a recurring theme. In our minds we know it’s true. If we constantly say tomorrow, it never gets done. I even read an article recently, though you’ll have to forgive me as I can’t seem to recall the address, that spoke of those people who don’t have tomorrow. Who know their time is limited, and everything has to be today.

My Mum was one such person, passing away of cancer when I’d just turned three years old, and she was two months shy of 22. I’ve lived with the feeling in my mind, morbid though it may seem, that there is no such thing as tomorrow. Every day is a gift, and all we have for certain is now. That doesn’t stop me being horrendously lazy at times, and putting chores off when I don’t feel like completing them. But there’s where I fall down – I can embrace life with my philosophy on tomorrow, but I can’t utilise it. I’m not very good at cramming every day with productivity.

Still, the point I’m making with this post isn’t tied to being productive or making a new start. It’s just to remember that, if you ever want to do something or start something or change something, never say tomorrow. Always start today, even if it IS an odd number…

Kirsty

Leave a Reply

