Daily motivation 13 – make the music work

This one’s from me – if any of you read my random blog post the other night you’ll know what I’m talking about. If not, I’ll explain.

I’ve spent a lot of time over the years creating, editing and modifying playlists dependant on mood, activity, theme and genre. As mentioned the other night, I have a “morning” playlist that I stick on when I first wake up. I have a particular list of songs I play when I need cheering up, one for when I’m feeling lazy and need to get my energy back, one for winding down in the evening. I have a list of my favourite instrumental and classical tracks, one of my favourite hip-hop and R n’ B songs, one for soft, hard and heavy rock, and even one for classic rock.

I even make playlists for particular projects I’m working on. Each of my stories and games has a dedicated playlist so that, when I’m working on them, I can work myself into the mood.

Now, I’m not for one second suggesting everyone become as OCD with music as I am. But if you’re trying to cheer yourself up, or put yourself in a positive frame of mind, choose your favourite background music to help. Sound can have a profound effect on our minds and, if you embrace the effect music has on your mood, you can start to use it as a tool to train yourself to feel more positive, be more productive, and generally take life in a more content way.

Everybody’s different – just spend a little time experimenting with how different types of music make you feel. You might surprise yourself.

Kirsty

 

Leave a Reply

