Daily motivation 5 – one step at a time

My goals aren’t huge, or particularly difficult, but for those of you who need more focus here’s some different advice on prioritising resolutions for those bigger challenges, but with a continuing theme of habits-to-lifestyle being tackled in a different way:

I’ve discovered over the years that there’s a big difference between the formation of habits and simply making resolutions. I believe that one of the keys to successfully implementing permanent change in our lives revolves around instituting new habits. Once a habit is made, we don’t even have to think about it anymore. It becomes second nature.

This difference is this blogger recommends one, and only one, habit at a time. It might not seem like I am right now, but it’s something I’ve done successfully.

My example? My teeth. Before the New Year came close I made an oath that, no matter how tired, sore, ill or busy I was, I would never forget to brush my teeth AT LEAST twice, EVERY SINGLE DAY. Now, I never forget in the morning, but on occasion in the evening I’ve let it slide – some of you can pull a face, but I know I’m in a majority here. I even know some people who never wash their face except in the shower, or never brush their teeth at all.

But that’s not me. So I began making time for this every night – to the point where, drunk as a skunk, I enlisted my boyfriend to aid me quietly to the bathroom at 4am on New Year’s Day to do so. I was trying not to wake anyone up, as everyone else was asleep. I ended up feeding toothpaste to an empty glass in the bathroom because I decided it wanted some too. But the point is, despite being drunk and barely remembering doing so, I made sure I did it.

Another, older, habit was removing my make up before bed. I don’t wear it daily, but I know it’s bad for my skin to leave it on. I do still have days where I forget or choose to just leave it till the morning, but I do prefer naturally to remove it now whereas before it was just a chore. It’s not a perfectly formed habit, but it has changed my way of thinking and behaving the majority of the time.

So there’s my one-at-once habits. I prefer my grouping method for 2013, but it has been a successful approach for me in the past. And, as I said before, it’s all about those habits.

Kirsty

One response to “Daily motivation 5 – one step at a time

  1. Howdy! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept talking about this. I will forward this article to him.
    Fairly certain he’ll have a good read. Many thanks for
    sharing!

Leave a Reply

