Variety is the spice of life…

…or so the saying goes! And, after a few days obsessing over the new blog and my writing exercises, I’m going to do something personal.

I often cycle several books at once. Here are the types I tend to work through;

One for Terry Pratchett

An on-going goal. I’m reading every one of Pratchett’s Discworld titles in order of publication (not counting the spin-offs such as “The Folklore of Discworld”, though I will read these in between. I’m just less concerned about the order with them). Right now, I’m on book 25: “The Truth”.

One Shared

Also known as “one read out loud”. Right now I’m reading “The Hobbit” by Tolkien for Adam, because he’s probably not going to find the patience to read it himself.

One Self-Help

More for my story writing, but useful on a personal level sometimes. I’ve just read “Why Him, Why Her?” by Helen Fisher and I’m now on “Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus” by John Gray.

One Classic/Cultural

Because I’m still on a bit of a Jane Austen binge, I finished “Pride and Prejudice” a few weeks back and I’m going to start “Sense and Sensibility” in the next few days. I class cultural enrichment under this category – classic poetry, period authors, etc.

One Young Readers

I’m not ashamed to admit I will happily read books aimed for teens and children. A good example is my completion of Lewis’ “The Magician’s Nephew” last night. I’m going to carry on the Chronicles of Narnia series, but I’m hoping to interplay that with some Dahl ones, such as “Fantastic Mr. Fox”, and maybe even another attempt at re-reading the Harry Potter series.

One Fantasy/Sci-Fi

Potentially overplayed with the category above, but I am hoping to re-read Adams’ “The Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” and Pullman’s “His Dark Materials”.

One Horror/Thriller/Mystery

My last category – I absolutely adore a good thriller read! One of my favourites is “Remembrance Day” by Henry Porter. I’m not sure which I’d like to read next, but I have plenty of choice. Maybe one by Colin Forbes – I’ve a few of his on my to-read list, and I really enjoyed what I read of him last.

So there you have it. If you’re interested in what I’m reading now, check out my professional blog – it contains a widget in the side bar that tracks my Goodreads activity.

Happy weekend everyone,

Kirsty

Leave a Reply

