About the back room

Well, it’s done! As mentioned in my previous post, I’ve been thinking a lot and I’ve gone ahead in making a sister blog. It’s called A Writer’s Back Room, and the focus is on tips, hints, advice and exercises aimed to help writers with their work.

I’ve had this idea for a while now, I just needed the right moment to kick-start it, and this feels like the moment. I shall post regularly, using as many different resources as I can to provide as many new ideas as possible.

Why am I doing it? Well, I know how it feels to be isolated as a creative mind. Having someone to give you that assistance, and in a friendly way, is like a lifeline. I’m using everything I’ve learnt, and the things I’ve yet to learn, to give writers a resource for advice. It’s like an english teacher, a literary agent, even a proof reader if needed. I know trusting someone with such a thing is hard, but it doesn’t hurt to offer all the same.

More than anything it’s fun. And it reminds me of one of my favourite writing quotes:

“Better to write for yourself and have no public, than to write for the public and have no self.”

― Cyril Connolly

I would love it if people read my work, used the exercises and found them to be helpful. But if they don’t, I’m still going to enjoy writing the posts, and it’s a good excuse to showcase my own literacy skills in case I need a clean, professional example for work prospects.

Here’s to my new back room. Now all I need to do is fix this blog, and we’re set.

Kirsty

Leave a Reply

