Bat, the whole Bat and nothing but the Bat!

An old poster, but with one of my favourite logos from the new film.

Can anybody guess what I’ve been up to? It began with Batman Begins earlier in the weekend, followed by The Dark Knight, all in preparation for the cinematic awesome that was The Dark Knight Rises yesterday evening.

Revisiting Batman Begins was worthwhile, because neither me or my boyfriend, Adam, really remembered much of it. I always feel the same with Batman Begins – it’s a brilliant film full of excitement and action, and yet I forget 90% of it within a week. I guess it’s one of those subtle masterpieces you don’t watch often, making The Dark Knight even more special because I would watch it over and over without flinching and I severely doubt I’d get bored.

I am an “in order” kind of person. I HAVE to watch everything chronologically, and Batman is the only thing that breaks my typical pattern. I only got Batman Begins on DVD about 6 weeks ago from a nearby pawn shop. I’ve had The Dark Knight special edition DVD for years, and I’ve watched it at least 4 times more often than its prequel.

Heath Ledger as The Joker

Something about Heath Ledger‘s chilling  performance as The Joker never ceases to captivate me, and he’s far from the only one. Morgan Freeman brings Lucious Fox to life in all three films, adding to an already impressive filmography including The Shawshank Redemption, Se7en, Deep Impact and The Bucket List. Michael Cain is another timeless actor, and even in his late 70s he still manages to amuse, entrance and devastate me with his flawless portrayal of every character he plays, from ladies’ man Alfie right through to big time thief Charlie Croker – he’s even played Ebenezer Scrooge, albeit with puppets. He seems to be becoming another firm favourite of director Christopher Nolan‘s films, having previously starred in both Inception and The Prestige. His portrayal of butler Alfred harks back to the days of Michael Gough. Now, there’s a legend…

Tom Hardy as Bane

Nolan does seem to like recycling old favourites. Following Caine from the cast of The Prestige is none other than Bruce Wayne himself, Christian Bale. And from Inception, we see even more familiar faces. Cillian Murphy appears in all three titles as Dr. Crane, also known as Batman’s trippy nemesis, Scarecrow. Joseph Gordon-Levitt, and Marion Cotillard all play fairly big roles in the third film, and each of them helped make a stunning film unforgettable. I also loved Anne Hathaway‘s performance, and was delighted to see reference to Liam Neeson‘s character from Batman Begins.

I do love Neeson. Aslan’s voice makes my stomach flip every time I watch one of the Narnia adaptations, although I definitely preferred the first two. I was disappointed by the subtle changes in The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, but I did enjoy the character development from Lucy. I also can’t wait to check out Taken 2 – I saw a trailer for it before The Dark Knight Rises started in the cinema. I’m a fan of Famke Janssen, and seeing that she gets to play a bigger role this time is fantastic news! Although I wonder what happened to her boyfriend, played by Xander Berkeley.

Anne Hathaway as Catwoman

I first saw him play George Mason in drama series 24 alongside Kiefer Sutherland – he stole my heart in that show! And not just because he has amazingly gentle eyes… But I’ve recently seen him in another show, The Booth at the End (check out the official site for episodes and other goodies). He’s incredible! When I read Dan Brown’s Digital Fortress I thought he’d be a perfect candidate to play Trevor Strathmore.

Okay, I’m getting side tracked. We also played Batman: Arkham Asylum between films to keep the momentum going. Well, Adam did – I’ve played it before. I learned more from that game about Batman and his adversaries than ever, and I can confidently say that, if they made another Batman film (I’m not saying if they can/will or not with how they left this one, but hypothetically) I’m sort of opinionated on who I’d like to see.

Cillian Murphy as Scarecrow

For a start, no Joker. I don’t think anyone can top Ledger’s performance and I don’t think they should try. As such, no Harley Quinn. Depressing though that is, because I bet she’d be incredible, you can’t have her without The Joker. Apart from that, I’ve no qualms on who they’d pick next. I’d love to see Zsasz return (he was briefly in Batman Begins) because he terrifies me! If you’ve ever heard his sound bites in Arkham Asylum you’ll understand why, freaky man! I’d also adore to see The Riddler make an appearance – Bruce Wayne is bright, and I don’t think we’ve seen enough of his wit so far in Bale’s interpretation of the role. Of course, then there’s the even more bizarre – Killer Croc hasn’t been seen in any film to date, but when Comissioner Gordon is taken from the sewers in the latest films one of the officers distinctly asks if he’s seen a giant crocodile down there… a hint, perhaps? And then there’s Poison Ivy, The Penguin, Mr. Freeze… it’s not like the well is running dry, not by a long shot.

In the meantime, I’m waiting for Adam to finish Arkham Asylum so I can borrow it and replay it myself. We are also hoping to purchase a copy of Batman: Arkham City sometime soon – after all the Bat we’ve had lately I’m really looking forward to it!

Kirsty

Leave a Reply

