Getting noticed

I’m waiting for the fruit and veg van to arrive outside my flat, and while I kill time I’ve been thinking about my blog and twitter accounts. I’ve been set the task by one of my colleagues to tweet about relevant things to get myself noticed in a way that will help my career. But I don’t just want this popularity to gather on my twitter. After all, you can’t measure that effectively. Followers are one thing, but anyone can be using my tips and not be subscribing to me.

When I first began looking into the role of being a journalist, I was told to be unstoppable. Run after everyone, and tell them they don’t know it yet but they need me. “Indispensable” I believe is what I’m going for here. So I have to find a way to make myself indispensable to my industry.

I’m going to start by really upping the research. My twitter account has 12 followers right now, whereas my old one had over 150 (and still does technically, I haven’t taken it down). My last blog before this one had well over 100 views in a day once, and admittedly that was a review article, but its way more than this one is clocking so far. I know this is a different type of blog, one I’d have to work harder at to make it indispensable. So I’m going to work harder to publicise myself.

I know, in my heart of hearts, I’d be good at this job. I’d be great at my chosen career path if I only got a chance to start. All I need to do now is stop being so nervous about putting myself out there and show others how great I’d be. Maybe if I did that it wouldn’t take as long as I expect it to before I can get somewhere.

But, as the last post stated… little steps.

And a quote:

Don’t be afraid to give your best to what seemingly are small jobs.  Every time you conquer one it makes you that much stronger.  If you do the little jobs well, the big ones will tend to take care of themselves.”

Wisdom of Dale Carnegie. Now, where’s that fruit and veg van?

 

Kirsty

Leave a Reply

