Writer’s block

Not so titled because I have writer’s block – I’m watching an NCIS episode which plays with McGee’s novel writing. Although I’ve not been writing much lately – not part of my fiction work, anyway. Just some personal things.

My life has taken a very sharp new turn. I tried really hard to make the New Year into a fresh start, but it was only skin deep. I think so much more has changed in the past few weeks that it’s left me in a better position to really look at my life and make it into what I want it to be.

On the 8th February 2012 something changed. It’s given me a whole new perspective on myself and my life as a whole. Call it an epiphany if you will. It’s about figuring out who you are, and who you want to be, and spending every day bringing those two realities closer together.

Of course, following the precedence set by my chosen blog title, this does mean not spending my time working on my stories. You can’t focus on other characters when you’re examining your own, after all. I’m not just going to look at one aspect of myself either. I’m looking at everything – health, appearance, personality, social life, work and housing, even cultural development. These things can’t happen by half measures – they have to go all the way.

If you were a character in a book, and the author of this book had to write up a profile about you, what would it say? What would be your interests? Your motivations? Bearing in mind that they would know you better than you know yourself – know what makes you tick, know your darkest secrets, know what you’d die for and what you’d kill for… do you think you’d like what you see if you got the chance to read it? I reckon there are a lot of people out there who might, but many more who’d be dissapointed, angry, embarassed or depressed by it.

I’ve made mistakes in my life, but I can still look myself in the mirror and like who I see staring back at me. I’ve always thought that’s important, and it’s something I’d like to carry on working towards.

In fact, I’m going to start now.

Wish me luck,

Kirsty

Leave a Reply

